E-MAIL NEWSLETTER  03.17.04 Vol 4.10
BOOKSTORE | GALLERIES | AUCTIONS | BISTRO
  N E W S W I R E
Copyright © Maggie Taylor, 2001
Copyright © Maggie Taylor, 2001
The Santa Fe Center for Photography
Announces Award Winners

The Santa Fe Center for Photography announced the winners of the ninth annual Project Competition and Assignment Earth contests. Cash awards, photographic equipment, and scholarships to the Project Workshop with Sam Abell and Nancy Foley at the Santa Fe Workshops were awarded.

The Project Competition recognizes gifted and committed photographers working on long-term documentary projects or fine art series. A total of seven winners were chosen from 358 submissions. The top award of $5000 went to Maggie Taylor for Looking Back. Juror's Choice awards went to Desireé Holman for A Bucolic Existence for an Unreal Life; Larry McNeil for Killer Whale House-Keet Hit; and John Trotter for No Agua, No Vida: Slow Death of the Colorado River Delta.

In addition to the Project Competition, the Assignment Earth awards recognize outstanding individual images in both color and black-and-white. In the color category, first went to Cynthia Greig, second to Andrea Cypress, and third to Gary Dwyer. Colin Blakely, Marcella Hackbardt, and Robb Hill received honorable mention. Prizes in the black-and-white category went to Douglas Etheridge, John Custodio, and Mykle Parker, with honorable mentions going to Mark Berndt, Mark Maio, and Marjorie Nichols.

The competitions are generously supported by photo-eye Books & Prints, Adobe, B & H, Calumet, Epson, Hasselblad, Logan, Photo District News, Singer Editions, and Twin Palms Publishers.

Jurors for the competitions were Sue Brisk, editorial director for Magnum Photos, Patrick Nagatani of the Atomic Photographers Guild, and Elizabeth Siegel, assistant curator of photography at the Art Institute of Chicago.

Links:
Santa Fe Center for Photography
View Maggie Taylor's Portfolio Looking Back
View John Custodio's Portfolio
FotoFest 2004 Continues in Houston
FotoFest 2004 is exploring one of the world's most important and least understood issues - WATER. In addition to its exhibitions and installations, FotoFest 2004 is featuring a Global Forum on Water and a Film & Video Series on Water. The 2004 Tenth International Biennial of Photography and Photo-Related Arts, is underway in over 120 venues until April 12, 2004 in Houston, Texas.

On March 12, FotoFest 2004 opened the Tenth Biennial with a Downtown celebration along Houston's Main Street and the city's new light rail line. With photography exhibitions in buildings surrounding the city's new fountains on Main Street Square, FotoFest's 2004 Opening included public exhibit openings, music, performances, and projections. European Photography Magazine, one of the world's most prestigious creative photography publications, is devoting its 75th issue to the subject of Water in conjunction with FotoFest 2004.

photo-eye is present selling books at the Meeting Place in the Warwick Hotel until March 21st, 1-5 pm. Come by and visit with photo-eye's Director Rixon Reed and his partner, Vicki Bohannon.

More on FotoFest 2004
  P H O T O G R A P H E R ' S S H O W C A S E
Bruce Haley's portfolio Wreckage of Empire: Communist-era Industrial Sites
Visiting these sites is "like being dropped into some sort of alternate reality, or stumbling upon a long-forgotten sci-fi film set, or discovering that the Apocalypse has occurred while you cat-napped, and you missed it... Ahead lies an alien world of decaying technology that is at once terrible and darkly seductive" - Bruce Haley
Image © Bruce Haley
Image © Bruce Haley
    Untitled (I),

Toned Gelatin-Silver Print
23x9" Image
32x16" Mat
Edition of 25
$850.00

View Portfolio
Contact Joslin van Arsdale, Assistant Gallery Director, for further information.
Visit photo-eye online Galleries. Photographers: Apply to the Photographer's Showcase®
 
  A U C T I O N S
Scarce Ralph Eugene Meatyard<br>Volume Closes this WeekScarce Ralph Eugene Meatyard
Volume Closes this Week

"The Family Album of Lucybelle Crater is Meatyard's swan song...In its forthrightness and its gothic loopiness, it manages to illuminate two truths simultaneously: that we are all the same, really; and that we are all different under the masks"—David Levi Strauss in The Book of 101 Books
Bids shown below are current as of 10:47 am MT, 03.17.2004
If you have auction items (valued at $250 or more) to consign, please e-mail us.
Auction Item High Bid Bids Time Left  
 Coke: Photography - A Facet of Modernism (+ 1 other): Coke: Photography - A Facet of Modernism (+ 1 other) $70 4
2d 2h 12m
Nude Alphabet portfolio: Nude Alphabet portfolio $160 11
5d 1h 12m
Hoelscher: Art of Advertising Photography: Hoelscher: Art of Advertising Photography $50 1
7d 1h 12m
Ralph Eugene Meatyard: The Family Album of Lucybelle Crater: Ralph Eugene Meatyard: The Family Album of Lucybelle Crater $300 9
8d 1h 12m
  J U S T - I N A N D R E C O M M E N D E D
Frederic Brenner: Diaspora Frederic Brenner: Diaspora
For the past 25 years, Frederic Brenner has photographed Jews in 40 countries on 5 continents. "His groundbreaking photographic account of Jewish culture, community and identity represents the most extensive visual record of Jewish life ever created." - the publisher READ MORE

Cat# HR044H Hardbound $100.00 Online Price: $90.00 Save 10%
Purchase Book

Diaspora
Agustin Victor Casasola: Mexico Agustin Victor Casasola: Mexico
"Agustín Victor Casasola photographed everyone of consequence in Mexico at the time of the revolution...For this splendid collection of Casasola's work, Pete Hamill has written a rich essay on the photographer and the Mexico he pictured so well." - the publisher READ MORE

Cat# AP471H Hardbound $50.00 Online Price: $45.00 Save 10%
Purchase Book

Mexico
More New Arrivals
  S I G N E D B O O K S
Ron Rosenstock: Hymn to the Earth Ron Rosenstock: Hymn to the Earth
A master of the large format view camera in the tradition of Ansel Adams, Rosenstock's gorgeous compositions celebrate the beauty of the natural world. Reproduced in flawless duotone, Hymn to the Earth is a testament to the beauty of the gelatin silver print. READ MORE

Cat# ZC154H Hardbound $60.00
Purchase Book

Hymn to the Earth
More Signed Books
  D E E P D I S C O U N T S
Sneakers: Where'd You Get Those? Sneakers: Where'd You Get Those?
Bobbito Garcia is a bit of a legend to New Yorkers in the know about music and hip-hop culture. As a dj, he has, for years, written a column for VIBE magazine called Soundcheck, in which he converses with music celebs and plays snippets of tracks for them to identify. He's also a sneaker junkie, obsessed with basketball and all things relating to the trends in shoes surrounding that sport. This book is a hip resource presented in a great package. READ MORE

Cat# PY098H Hardbound $35.00 Online Price: $21.00 Save 40%
Purchase Book

Where'd You Get Those?
Larry Fink: Social Graces Larry Fink: Social Graces
In his famed first monograph, here reprinted by powerHouse Books, "Larry Fink straddles the scenes in his characteristically clandestine manner. Fink photographed society black tie events, capturing a sense of stale emptiness lurking in the decadence of the jet set, only to turn the tide and let loose with the often racous, emotional, and intimate photographs of his neighbors, the Sabatine farm family."—the publisher READ MORE

Cat# PY035H Hardbound $55.00 Online Price: $19.95 Save 63%
Purchase Book
More Sale Books
  p h o t o - e y e S P R I N G B O O K L I S T
: 2004 Spring Booklist 2004 Spring Booklist
The cover of our Spring issue features a photograph by British photographer Neil Drabble, from his recent release Tree Tops Tall, published by Steidl/Mack. London-based writer/editor Robin Muir lends a fresh voice in his contribution, About Our Cover. Each Spring we proudly announce our list of the favorite books of the previous year—there are 12 stunning winners. Japanese photographer Daido Moriyama talks with publisher Chris Pichler about the first English translation of his classic title, Memories of a Dog. Photographer Aaron Rothman offers part 1 of a 2 part essay on photography, perception and the landscape. And as always, our editor, Darius Himes, reviews the best new books of the Spring season.

Subscribers or regular customers: download current issue.

Cat# PE018S Softbound $4.00 (per issue-domestic)
Subscribe or Purchase Current Booklist


Browse past photo-eye E-News in the Newsletter Archive.
Would someone you know love to receive the photo-eye newsletter, too? Recommend a friend.

Orders: 800.227.6941  Information: 505.988.5152  Fax: 505.988.4487
© photo-eye Books & Prints, 2004. All Rights Reserved.
Unsubscribe