E-MAIL NEWSLETTER  02.23.05 Vol 5.8
BOOKSTORE | GALLERIES | AUCTIONS | MAGAZINE | SERVICES | BISTRO
  B E S T �� P H O T O G R A P H Y �� B O O K S
�
The Envelopes Please!: Our Staff Picks for the Best Photo Books of 2004
Let's face it: You don't really care about the Oscars; the excitement's been at a fever pitch in anticipation of photo-eye's Best Photo Books of 2004 awards (who needs moving pictures anyway?). So, without further ado, and in no particular order, here they are:

The Photobook: A History. Volume I. By Martin Parr & Gerry Badger
Ocean Flowers. By Carol Armstrong & Catherine De Zegher
Photographs. By Malick Sidibe
Roaming. By Todd Hido
Diane Arbus: The Libraries. Installation photographs by Megan Lewis
Uncommon Places: The Complete Works. By Stephen Shore
Sleeping by the Mississippi. By Alec Soth
Vintage Prints. By Daido Moriyama
Dogs Chasing My Car in the Desert. By John Divola
Sticks & Stones. By Lee Friedlander
Quinault. By Yoshihiko Ueda
Landfall. By Lukas Felzmann

Other books of note: Polly. By Debbie Fleming Caffery; L�dz Ghetto Album. By Henryk Ross; Typologies of Industrial Buildings. By Bernd and Hilla Becher
  p�h�o�t�o�-�e�y�e���S�p�r�i�n�g���B�o�o�k�l�i�s�t
Photo-Eye Booklist: 2005 Spring Booklist Photo-Eye Booklist: 2005 Spring Booklist
The cover of our Spring Booklist features an image from John Gossage's new monograph, Berlin in the Time of the Wall. Jim Stone contributes a wonderful review of the book and of Gossage's work in general. Along with a survey of thirty of the most important books of the season, the Spring issue includes the photo-eye awards for Best Books of 2004, a review of the reissue of Danny's Lyon's 1969 book, The Destruction of Lower Manhattan, an interview with Chan Chao on his new book, Echo, and the fourth installment in the series Publishing the Photography Book by Mary Virginia Swanson and our editor Darius Himes.

Cat# PE022S Softbound $4.00 (per issue-domestic)
Subscribe or Purchase Current Booklist

  p h o t o - e y e �� G A L L E R Y �� S a n t a � F e
FACES: Ena Bunraku
In his latest series of portraits from Japan, Hiroshi Watanabe captures the many faces of the Ena Bunraku, a traditional Japanese stage art from the Edo Period, that is performed with puppets and accompanied by traditional instruments such as the Shamisen. Rooted in the community, such localized traditional arts are handed down from generation to generation. Ena Bunraku is now in the hands of twenty members of the Ena Bunraku Conservatory in Kaware village whose current population is only 280.
Image � Hiroshi Watanabe
Image � Hiroshi Watanabe
    Oniichi, Ena Bunraku, 2003

Toned Gelatin-Silver Print
10x10" Image
16x20" Mat
9 / 30
$500.00

View Portfolio
Contact Joslin van Arsdale, Assistant Gallery Director, for further information.
Visit photo-eye online Galleries. Photographers: Apply to the Photographer's Showcase®
 
  P H O T O G R A P H E R ' S �� S H O W C A S E
Peter Merts portfolio: Solitude, continued
"I use photography to explore the unknown—or rather my own unknown. Not to discover new things, but to rediscover the old."—Peter Merts
Image � Peter Merts
Image � Peter Merts
    Three-lobed Figure, 2003

Toned Gelatin-Silver Print
13x10" Image
14x11" Mat
$450.00

View Portfolio
Contact Joslin van Arsdale, Assistant Gallery Director, for further information.
Visit photo-eye online Galleries. Photographers: Apply to the Photographer's Showcase®
 
  A U C T I O N S
Open for Bidding: Leni Riefenstahl: Sch�nheit im Olympischen KampfOpen for Bidding: Leni Riefenstahl: Sch�nheit im Olympischen Kampf
Writing in The Book of 101 Books, David Levi Strauss says of this book, "These are such exquisite, transcendentally beautiful images of athletes, that one almost forgets their context."
Bids shown below are current as of 5:40 pm MT, 02.23.2005
If you have auction items (valued at $250 or more) to consign, please e-mail us.
Auction Item High Bid Bids Time Left  
Jock Sturges EverColor Print: Jock Sturges EverColor Print - 0
4d 19h 49m
Harry Callahan: Silver Gelatin Photograph of New York: Harry Callahan: Silver Gelatin Photograph of New York $1,000 1
5d 20h 19m
W. Eugene Smith: Minamata portfolio + Minimata (SIGNED by A. Smith) (2 items): W. Eugene Smith: Minamata portfolio + Minimata (SIGNED by A. Smith) (2 items) $150 1
6d 18h 19m
Nobuyoshi Araki: Tokyo Lucky Hole: Nobuyoshi Araki: Tokyo Lucky Hole $175 9
6d 19h 49m
Leni Riefenstahl: Sch�nheit im Olympischen Kampf: Leni Riefenstahl: Sch�nheit im Olympischen Kampf $180 3
6d 20h 19m
Robert Mapplethorpe: Lady Lisa Lyon (SIGNED): Robert Mapplethorpe: Lady Lisa Lyon (SIGNED) $100 1
7d 19h 19m
  J U S T - I N �� A N D �� R E C O M M E N D E D
Phil Bergerson: Shards of America Phil Bergerson: Shards of America
"A shard is a fragment of broken pottery, often used by archaeologists to reconstruct objects from past civilizations. In Shards of America, Canadian photographer Phil Bergerson has gathered richly detailed images from neglected corners of American's towns and small cities, and created a fascinating mosaic."—the publisher READ MORE

Cat# NT144H Hardbound $25.00 Online Price: $22.50 Save 10%
Purchase Book

Shards of America
Bruce Weber: Stern Portfolio No. 38: Bruce Weber Stern Portfolio No. 38: Bruce Weber
"The collection of photographs presented in this portfolio is testimony to Weber's achievements and to the range of his talents. Whether interiors, landscapes, bold, sexy male nudes, or erotic yet nostalgic takes on American adolescence, the reader will be dazzled with the breadth of Weber's contributions on display."—the publisher READ MORE

Cat# TY080S Softbound $22.95 Online Price: $20.65 Save 10%
Purchase Book


Stern Portfolio No. 38: Bruce Weber
David Deutsch: Photographs/Paintings David Deutsch: Photographs/Paintings
Since the 1990s David Deutsch has been making aerial photographs to be used as studies for large-scale paintings. This beautiful new two-volume slipcased edition from Twin Palms presents his work in both media. READ MORE

Cat# TT128H Hardbound $60.00 Online Price: $54.00 Save 10%
Purchase Book

Photographs/Paintings
  S I G N E D���B O O K S
Robert ParkeHarrison: The Architect's Brother Robert ParkeHarrison: The Architect's Brother—Signed
A 4th printing including additional images not in the first. The fantastical, constructed landscapes-born of the active mind of this imaginative photographer-speak of both the horror of humanity's carelessness with our land and the hopefulness that we can change our own ill-fated actions in the world.
Signed by Shana and Robert ParkeHarrison.

NOTE: A few copies remain of the first printing in both trade and limited editions (photo-eye catalogue #TT094) READ MORE

Cat# TT111H Hardbound $60.00
Purchase Signed Book

The Architect's Brother
Josef Hoflehner: Gegendum Josef Hoflehner: Gegendum—Signed
Hoflehner's follow-up to Frozen History (photo-eye catalogue #ZC185) highlights his lush naturalistic images of wild, islolated locales. The rich, atmospheric tonalities of his prints will appeal to fans of Kenna and Caponigro. READ MORE

Cat# ZC416H Hardbound $70.00
Purchase Signed Book

Gegendum

Browse past photo-eye E-News in the Newsletter Archive.
Would someone you know love to receive the photo-eye newsletter, too? Recommend a friend.

Orders: 800.227.6941  Information: 505.988.5152  Fax: 505.988.4487
© photo-eye Books & Prints, 2005. All Rights Reserved.
Unsubscribe
--->