E-MAIL NEWSLETTER  08.10.05 Vol 5.32
BOOKSTORE | GALLERIES | AUCTIONS | MAGAZINE | SERVICES | BISTRO
  p h o t o - e y e    G A L L E R Y    S a n t a   F e
Julie Blackmon: Domestic Vacations
photo-eye Gallery is pleased to present Julie Blackmon's portfolio Domestic Vacations. In this body of work Blackmon recreates everyday sacred moments within contemporary family life. "I believe there are little sactuaries that can be found throughout any given day, no matter how ordinary, that reveal meaning," says Blackmon. "It is in finding these moments amidst the stress of everyday that my life as a mother parallels my work as an artist." Allied to childhood imagination, her vision transforms those familiar children into wonderful, fantastic beings that push the frontiers of the imagination of the viewer, but, at the same time, ask that the viewer consider the wonder in everyday life.
Image © Julie Blackmon
Image © Julie Blackmon
    Nail Polish, 2005

Pigment Ink Print
22x22" Image
27x27" Mat
Edition of 25
$750.00

View Portfolio
Contact Joslin van Arsdale, Assistant Gallery Director, for further information.
Visit photo-eye online Galleries. Photographers: Apply to the Photographer's Showcase®
 
  P H O T O G R A P H E R ' S    S H O W C A S E ®
Todd Deutsch's portfolio Family Days
Family Days takes place in the middle of a minor madhouse in the upper Midwest. The photographs describe the fatigue and tension that develop when the arrival of my third son upsets an already fragile domestic peace...These photographs reflect the craziness in our lives as the house is taken over by three boys.
Image © Todd Deutsch
Image © Todd Deutsch
    Day 285- June 19, 2004

Chromogenic Print
16x10" Image
24x20" Mat
$650.00

View Portfolio
Contact Joslin van Arsdale, Assistant Gallery Director, for further information.
Visit photo-eye online Galleries. Photographers: Apply to the Photographer's Showcase®
 
  A U C T I O N S
On the Block: Iconic Paul Strand Camera Work GravureOn the Block: Iconic Paul Strand Camera Work Gravure
The last three issues of Camera Work, appearing as pictorialism was giving way to modernism, were largely devoted to the work of Paul Strand. Made up of photogravures, hand-pulled from the original negatives onto Japanese tissue and tipped into each copy by hand, the production of Stieglitz's renowned journal was ruinously expensive. This haunting image comes from the very last issue.

Also closing this week: a scarce hardbound 1st edition of Danny Lyon's The Bikeriders; an unusually fine copy of Lines of My Hand by Robert Frank and Leni Riefenstahl's Kampf in Schnee und Eis.
Bids shown below are current as of 5:47 pm MT, 08.10.2005
If you have auction items (valued at $250 or more) to consign, please e-mail us.
Auction Item High Bid Bids Time Left  
Danny Lyon: The Bikeriders (Scarce hardbound 1st edition): Danny Lyon: The Bikeriders (Scarce hardbound 1st edition) $520 2
1d 18h 12m
Helen Levitt: A Way of Seeing: Helen Levitt: A Way of Seeing $260 5
4d 18h 42m
Robert Mapplethorpe: Lady Lisa Lyon (SIGNED BY BOTH!): Robert Mapplethorpe: Lady Lisa Lyon (SIGNED BY BOTH!) $420 9
4d 19h 12m
Lisette Model (Ltd. Edition Aperture Monograph with Print!): Lisette Model (Ltd. Edition Aperture Monograph with Print!) - 0
4d 19h 42m
Alvin Langdon Coburn portfolio - Jerry Uelsmann's copy: Alvin Langdon Coburn portfolio - Jerry Uelsmann's copy - 0
4d 20h 42m
4 Cyanotypes by Charles Lummis: 4 Cyanotypes by Charles Lummis - 0
5d 18h 12m
Tom Baril (4AD monograph, 1997): Tom Baril (4AD monograph, 1997) $490 14
5d 18h 42m
Paul Strand: Photogravure from Camera Work (1917): Paul Strand: Photogravure from Camera Work (1917) $500 1
5d 19h 12m
Michael Lesy: Wisconsin Death Trip: Michael Lesy: Wisconsin Death Trip $80 1
Auction Ended


View more Auctions
  J U S T    I N    &    R E C O M M E N D E D
Daido Moriyama: Remix Daido Moriyama: Remix
"[Moriyama] endlessly plunges into his contact prints, tirelessly reprints his images, re-centers them, prints them horizontally or vertically to achieve the desired format at the time . . . enough to make you lose yourself in the maelstrom of his photos"—from Patrick Remy's introduction READ MORE

Cat# ZC426S Softbound $65.00
Purchase Book


Remix
Hiroshi Sugimoto: Conceptual Forms Hiroshi Sugimoto: Conceptual Forms
This exhibition catalogue was conceived by Hiroshi Sugimoto. It includes the complete Conceptual Forms series (44 photographs) and installation views by the artist. READ MORE

Cat# ZC439H Hardbound $72.00
Purchase Book

Conceptual Forms
  S I G N E D B O O K S
David Robinson: Wonderland David Robinson: Wonderland—Signed
"During the past 4 years, David Robinson has documented a diverse selection of some of the world's most popular tourist destinations such as Florida's Holy Land experience, Legoland in Windsor and the Costa del Sol. Each destination is deliberately chosen for its unique western character - a choice which magnifies the man-made structures and parks dominating over the surrounding natural landscape."—Andrew Gellatly, Wonderland foreword. READ MORE

Cat# ZC607H Hardbound $30.00
Purchase Signed Book

Wonderland
Chip Hooper: California's Pacific Chip Hooper: California's Pacific—Signed
"California's Pacific is the first installment of a series of photographs that Chip Hooper is making of oceans around the world. In the past two years, he has also worked in New Zealand and Iceland, among many other locations."—the publisher READ MORE

Cat# ZC430S Softbound $25.00
Purchase Signed Book


California's Pacific
More Signed Books
  L I M I T E D    E D I T I O N
Josef Hoflehner: Gegendum  - Signed book and Limited Edition Josef Hoflehner: Gegendum - Signed book and Limited Edition
Hoflehner's follow-up to Frozen History (photo-eye catalogue #ZC185 below) highlights his lush naturalistic images of wild, isolated locales. The rich, atmospheric tonalities of his prints will appeal to fans of Kenna and Caponigro.
Hardcover, cloth binding in a black linen slip case (first edition of 1000 copies).

View Print READ MORE

Cat# ZC416H Hardbound $70.00
Purchase Book

Cat# ZC416L Limited Edition $350.00
Purchase Limited Edition

Gegendum  - Signed book and Limited Edition
Antarctic Exploration: Frozen History - Signed book and Limited Edition Antarctic Exploration: Frozen History - Signed book and Limited Edition
Evocative black-and-white images of three utterly remote Antarctic huts, constructed during three separate expeditions. Due to the permanent sub-freezing temperatures, everything from clothing, to food-stuffs, to dead penguins have been perfectly preserved. The photos are stunning in their spareness and use of natural light.

View print Shore Party
View print Packing List READ MORE

Cat# ZC185H Hardbound $89.00
Purchase Book

Cat# ZC185L Limited Edition $400.00
Purchase Limited Edition

Frozen History - Signed book and Limited Edition
  N E W S W I R E
Les Rencontres d'Arles Awards for 2005
The Rencontres d'Arles Discovery Award, given to an artist only recently discovered or deserving to be, went to Czech photographer Miroslav Tichy, who worked in relative obscurity for over 40 years. In 2004 Harald Szeeman stunned visitors to the Seville Biennale with a rare exhibition of Tichy's work. Chosen from a short list of 60 books, Jules Spinatsch's Temporary Discomfort won the Book Award. Simon Norfolk received the Outreach Award for his large-format landscapes of war ravaged sites in Iraq and Afghanistan (shown). The No Limit Award was given to Mathieu Bernard-Reymond for his series Intervals: (2000-2005) and TV (2004-2005). Anna Malagrida, whose work explores the relationship between the individual and the people around them in the contemporary city, received the Project Assistance Grant award.

Links:
More about the Les Rencontres d'Arles Awards

Books by Simon Norfolk at photo-eye
Pre-order Jules Spinatsch's Temporary Discomfort

  p h o t o - e y e    S U M M E R    M A G A Z I N E
photo-eye Booklist: 2005 Summer photo-eye Booklist: 2005 Summer
photo-eye is pleased to announce the transformation of our quarterly Booklist into a 100% subscription-based magazine with a 4-issue price of only $20. The Booklist is handsomely designed and intelligently edited, with articles about photobook publishing, interviews with photographers and book makers, and, of course, our much anticipated survey of the best new photobooks from around the world. There is absolutely no other magazine like it.

Over a period of 25 years, the photo-eye Booklist grew from a single typewritten page in 1979, into a respected specialty book catalogue—must-reading for photobook lovers. The latest step in our evolution represents the culmination of several years of concerted editorial development, including more in-depth writing, new features of interest to collectors and photographers, and a summer 2004 re-design. We hope you enjoy our new magazine and support us in this exciting endeavor. Thank you for your help in making this publication a reality.
Rixon Reed, Publisher
Darius Himes, Editor

Visit our Magazine section to read more about our current issue.

Subscribe to the next 4 issues starting with Fall 2005.

Purchase this issue of the Booklist, click the below.

Thank you for your support!

Cat# PE023S Softbound $5.00 (per issue-domestic)
Subscribe or Purchase Current Booklist


Browse past photo-eye E-News in the Newsletter Archive.
Would someone you know love to receive the photo-eye newsletter, too? Recommend a friend.

Orders: 800.227.6941  Information: 505.988.5152  Fax: 505.988.4487
© photo-eye Books & Prints, 2005. All Rights Reserved.
Unsubscribe