Jean Clemmer & Paco Rabanne: Nues (English title, 'Canned Candies')
Auction Winner: scumeck
Bids are placed for you automatically up to your Maximum Bid
Minimum bid increment: $15    Learn More about bidding
Bid # High Bid Name Time (MT)
10 $490 scumeck 8:21:59  Dec 27
9 $475 afu66 8:21:59  Dec 27
8 $375 scumeck 6:57:55  Dec 27
View Complete Bid History
Auction Ended
Dec 27, 2012 2:15 pm MT
Nues. Photographs by Jean Clemmer. Designs & text by Paco Rabanne (in English & French). Carla Sozzani Editore, Milan, 2002*. 16 pp text + plates. Small folio. Second edition (originally published 1969). Clothbound in photo-illustrated dust jacket. Full-page black-and-white reproductions.



A classic book of 1960s fashion iconography that will appeal to fans of Sam Haskins, David Bailey and Wingate Paine. Nues was a collaboration between designer Paco Rabanne and the photographer of Jean Clemmer. For Nues, Rabanne pared down his metallic lace and knit creations, creating highly styled pieces that are somewhere between jewelry and clothing. Fantastic reissue, printed by Steidl, of a book that has achieved cult status among knowing fashionistas! These photos were the subject of the 2010 exhibition, 'Canned Candies: The Nudes of Jean Clemmer' at Flash Project in London. An interview with gallerist Christabel Armsden, appeared in DAZED DIGITAL:

"The collaboration between Jean Clemmer and Paco Rabanne was one of the greatest fashion moments of the 1960s,' says Christabel Armsden, director of Flash Projects. Photographer Jean Clemmer and fashion designer Paco Rabanne worked together on the book, Nues, which came out 1969 in Paris and went on to obtain a cult status.

"The combination of Clemmer’s erotic images and Rabanne’s 'unwearable' futuristic chain-mail designs was controversial at the time, but Armsden says the photographs look different 40 years later. 'What’s striking about the images today is that they’re so innocent,' she says. 'They capture the essence of the 1960s utopian dream in contrast to today’s overt sexual imagery.'" READ MORE

Fine in Near Fine+ dust jacket; edge worn; 1" scratch rear panel.
 	Jean Clemmer & Paco Rabanne: Nues (English title, 'Canned Candies')  	Jean Clemmer & Paco Rabanne: Nues (English title, 'Canned Candies')
+ Enlarge + Enlarge

Shipping costs are additional and are based on your chosen
default shipping method, unless other arrangements are made.

Good Luck Bidding!

© photo-eye, 2014. All Rights Reserved Copyrights-Trademarks Privacy Policy Returns Policy Staff/Hours/Santa Fe Location 800.227.6941 info@photoeye.com