Krass Clement: Skygger Af Øjeblikke + Berlin Notat + Paris. Carnet de recherche (3 Books)
Auction Ended: Still Available
Still interested? Please inquire .
Bids are placed for you automatically up to your Maximum Bid
Minimum bid increment: $20    Learn More about bidding
Bid # Opening Bid Name Time (MT)
0 $1,495
       
       
Estimated Value: $ 2,000  –  $2,500
 
Auction Ended
Jun 13, 2013 2:30 pm MT


Skygger af øjeblikke (Shadows of Moments). Photographs by Krass Clement. Erichsen, København, 1978. 61 pp. Quarto. [8 1/2 x 10 1/4 in/22 x 26 cm.] Hardbound. Photo-illustrated boards. No jacket as issued. Black-and-white reproductions.
Fine-; light shelf wear; a few tiny spots of abrasion; previous owner's name written in tiny letters on front free-endpaper.
Clement's rare first book!

Berlin Notat (Berlin Note). Gyldendal, Copenhagen, 2003. 205 pp. Large quarto. First edition. Clothbound in photo-illustrated dust jacket. Black-and-white reproductions.
Fine+/Fine+

Paris. Carnet de recherche. Gyldendal, Copenhagen, 2010. Large quarto [9 x 10 in./23 x 26 cm.] First edition, first printing. Hardbound. Photo-illustrated boards. No jacket as issued. Black-and-white reproductions.
As new in shrinkwrap.
Included in the recent anthology of photobooks on Paris, Hans-Michael Koetzle, Eyes On Paris, 1890 till today, p. 43.

Clement is best known for The Drum, which was included in Parr/Badger, vol. II. Sure to appeal to fans of John Gossage's Berlin and Daido Moriyama's Tokyo, Clement' Paris and Berlin will certainly go down as two of the most astonishing 'city books' of recent decades.

From Clement's web site:
Born in Copenhagen in 1946, Krass Clement is an autodidact photographer. Graduated as a film director from the Danish Film School in 1973, though continued with photography when it became evident that his future was not to be in film. A photographer since his early youth, Krass published his first book, Skygger af Øjeblikke (Shadows of Moments) in 1978. His photographic work emerges from two traditions: The Scandinavian melancholy on the one hand and the 'flaneur' tradition from the Parisian school on the other. His work originates from a fertile and imaginative thought process, a stream of consciousness that is clearly evident in his later books. In his photography Krass is more concerned with capturing a state of mind than with situations. They are less documentary depictions than subjective moods somewhere between spectator and reality. Insisting on an artistic integrity, Krass Clement has created a strong personal body of work with the photo book as his favourite medium.

"Krass Clement (b. 1946) is one of the most remarkable and influential Danish photographers of his generation. All his photographs raise existential questions about the human condition; they deal with the feelings we have difficulty facing: loss, anxiety and solitude, and with those aspects of life we all try to keep at a distance. If Clement's photographs affect us so deeply, it is not only because of his great visual talent, but also because of his ability to make these subjects accessible and immediate. This is perhaps because he actually speaks of himself. In some ways his photographic work could be seen as a type of self-portrait transposed into a world with which we are all familiar."--La Journal de la Photographie.com
Krass Clement:  Skygger Af Øjeblikke + Berlin Notat + Paris. Carnet de recherche (3 Books)
+ Enlarge

Shipping costs are additional and are based on your chosen
default shipping method, unless other arrangements are made.

Good Luck Bidding!

© photo-eye, 2014. All Rights Reserved Copyrights-Trademarks Privacy Policy Returns Policy Staff/Hours/Santa Fe Location 800.227.6941 info@photoeye.com