Tad Wakamatsu: Ipy Girl Ipy (with Obi!)
Auction Winner: afu66
Bids are placed for you automatically up to your Maximum Bid
Minimum bid increment: $10    Learn More about bidding
Bid # High Bid Name Time (MT)
11 $410 afu66 9:58:01  Jul 4
10 $400 peeping 9:58:01  Jul 4
9 $385 afu66 9:46:51  Jul 4
View Complete Bid History
Auction Ended
Jul 4, 2013 2:05 pm MT
Ipy Girl Ipy. Photographs by Tad Wakamatsu. Heibonsha, Tokyo, 1970. Unpaged. Quarto. First edition. Stiff photo-illustrated wrappers. Original printed obi [belly-band]. Black and white reproductions.



An awesome book of hippy-psychedelic-erotic style! Highly recommended for fans of Sam Haskins and Wingate Paine. Hippie chicks, bikers, nudity, etc....Much of it shot in New York, with solarized processing, high contrast, blurred graininess and a section printed on a translucent vellum-like paper. For a contemporary audience, the main draw for this book would have been the model Haruko Wanibuchi, a well-known film star who appeared regularly on in ads and the tabloids. Coinciding with the release of the book as an Ipy Girl Ipy LP, with a a cover design that is a variant of the book's, on which she sings and plays violin [also very collectible!; watch a video here!]. A high profile department store exhibition with coverage in Camera Mainichi also followed.

Fine-; slight wear to lower edges; a few spots of foxing; obi has 1 in./2.5 cm tear with some adjacent creasing.
Tad Wakamatsu: Ipy Girl Ipy (with Obi!) Tad Wakamatsu: Ipy Girl Ipy (with Obi!)
+ Enlarge + Enlarge

Shipping costs are additional and are based on your chosen
default shipping method, unless other arrangements are made.

Good Luck Bidding!

© photo-eye, 2014. All Rights Reserved Copyrights-Trademarks Privacy Policy Returns Policy Staff/Hours/Santa Fe Location 800.227.6941 info@photoeye.com