Mark Neville: Port Glasgow
Auction Winner: granolan
Bids are placed for you automatically up to your Maximum Bid
Minimum bid increment: $10    Learn More about bidding
Bid # High Bid Name Time (MT)
3 $220 granolan 13:32:24  Feb 13
2 $210 bostonbean 13:32:24  Feb 13
1 $195 bostonbean 7:45:50  Feb 13
Estimated Value: $ 250  –  $300
View Complete Bid History
Auction Ended
Feb 13, 2014 2:50 pm MT
Port Glasgow. Photographs and text by Mark Neville. Inverclyde Council/Scotish Arts Council/Urban 11, Glasgow, 2004. Unpaged. Oblong quarto (12 x 10 in./30.5 x 25 cm.). Clothbound in photo-illustrated dust jacket. Color reproductions. Includes an index of locations.



An artist's book cum public artwork that was never commercially available, this brilliant volume will no doubt appeal to fans of both Martin Parr and Paul Graham. Neville was nominated for a Pulitzer Prize by the New York Times in 2013. "In 2004 Neville spent a year as an artist in residence in Port Glasgow, the world centre for shipbuilding fifty years ago, now a town facing an industrial and economic decline. The result of this stay was a beautifully produced coffee table-style book conceived as a symbolic gift to the community...The concept had been to produce and distribute a hardback book of social documentary images, with high-production values, that subverted conventional ways in which such books are disseminated as ‘art’. Neville was fascinated by the way in which the kind of hardback ‘coffee-table’ book of images produced for this project, always ended up on the coffee-tables of the middle class, and not in the homes of those depicted in them. By refusing to sell the book in shops, and by making it uniquely available to Portonians, he was able to intercept and undermine this hierachical, class-based relationship between images and their audience, a relationship that can be viewed as relying on a framework of exploitation. Realising the Port project allowed Neville to examine these questions, and others to do with class, appropriation, the audience, and the context in which social documentary photographs are normally positioned."--uncredited text on Neville's own web site

Fine-/Near Fine+ jacket; a bit of wear to 'tips'; jacket moderately edge worn.
Mark Neville: Port Glasgow Mark Neville: Port Glasgow
+ Enlarge + Enlarge

Shipping costs are additional and are based on your chosen
default shipping method, unless other arrangements are made.

Good Luck Bidding!

© photo-eye, 2014. All Rights Reserved Copyrights-Trademarks Privacy Policy Returns Policy Staff/Hours/Santa Fe Location 800.227.6941 info@photoeye.com