Welcome to photo-eye Auctions!



This Week's Auctions

On the photo-eye Auction block this week, signed books Jean Clemmer & Paco Rabannes, Arnold Genthe, Cindy Sherman and Sally Mann; prints by Walker Evans; Henri Cartier-Bresson's momentous 1955 volume, The Europeans and more!

Now accepting consignments. For inquiries as well as discreet, expert advise on building or selling your collection, be sure to contact Eric Miles Director of Rare Books & Online Auctions.

Don't forget, all books shown in the Post-Auction Sale Inventory are available at the low opening bid prices shown! Invitation to Consign: Do you have photobooks or prints you'd like to sell? Read our F.A.Q.s.



Consign to photo-eye Auctions
photo-eye Auctions provides expert photobook search service, appraisal of libraries and photo collections and consulting for all of your library and photography collecting needs.

Login or Register to bid | Consign auction items

Items Open for Bids    Starting or
High Bid
Bids
 
Go to this Auction Henri Cartier-Bresson: The Europeans (in Rare Acetate Jacket)

Included in Parr and Badger The Photobook: A History, Vol. I
"Cartier-Bresson worked on The Europeans for five years, a short period if one considers that the famous Images ? la sauvette [The Dec . . .
$1065
22h 15m
[bid]
The Photo Book
 
Go to this Auction Andy Sewell: The Heath (SIGNED)

Included in Parr/Badger, The Photobook: A History, vol. III.
"This is the Heath as a living landscape but also as a mood and an atmosphere... a bo . . .
$465
22h 20m
[bid]
The Photo Book
 
Go to this Auction Cindy Sherman: Untitled Film Stills (MoMA Edition, SIGNED)

"Cindy Sherman's Untitled Film Stills, a series of black and white photographs created between 1977 and 1980, is widely seen as one of the most original and influential achievements in recent art. Wit . . .
$395
22h 25m
[bid]
1
 
Go to this Auction Jean Clemmer & Paco Rabanne: Nues (1st Edition!)--INSCRIBED Presentation Copy

A classic book of 1960s fashion iconography that will appeal to fans of Sam Haskins, David Bailey and Wingate Paine. Nues was a collaboration between designer Paco Rabanne and the photographer of Jean . . .
$395
22h 30m
[bid]
 
Go to this Auction Rinko Kawauchi: Utatane (Nap)--First Edition

"Just when it seems that everything has been photographed, in every possible way, along comes a photographer whose work is so original that the medium is renewed."--Parr & Badger

"[Rinko Ka . . .
$495
22h 35m
[bid]
The Photo Book
 
Go to this Auction Robert Frank: Lines of My Hand (Lustrum Press Edition)

Originally published in 1972 by Yugensha, Tokyo (also available, HERE, this edition was brought out later the same year by Ralph Gibson . . .
$225
22h 40m
[bid]
The Photo Book
 
Go to this Auction Robert Frank: Lines of My Hand (1972 First Edition)--with "New York City, 1948" Cover

As Parr and Badger write, "Everything [Frank] does is a diary, a confession." The books retrospective tone is . . .
$2495
22h 45m
[bid]
The Photo Book
 
Go to this Auction Arnold Genthe: Old Chinatown (1913 Ed., Inscribed Presentation Copy with Signed Letter)

The desirable 1913 edition, inscribed to an important figure in the history of San Francisco's Chinatown. Included in Parr & Badger, [bid or read more]

$565
22h 50m
[bid]
The Photo Book
 
Go to this Auction Walker Evans: City Lunch Counter, Lexinton Ave., c.1930 (from American Photographs)

Quotidian New York life as only Evans could capture it! "As early as the 1870s, the quick-lunch counter had become commonplace in New York City. With the introduction and success of the coin-operated . . .
$1795
22h 55m
[bid]
 
Go to this Auction Walker Evans: View of Easton, Pennsylvania, 1938 (from American Photographs)

"By defining both his subjects and photography itself through the use of this irradiating, informing light, Evans makes an identification between the two which is simple, direct, and profound."--[bid or read more]

$1695
23h 0m
[bid]
 
Go to this Auction Walker Evans: Railroad Station, Edwards, Mississippi, 1936

"From an elevated position, perhaps standing on a bridge or trestle, Walker Evans photographed railroad tracks receding around a bend in a small town. Several men huddle around a curb at the end of th . . .
$1295
23h 5m
[bid]
 
Go to this Auction Walker Evans: Subway Passengers, New York City, 1938

From Evans' Subway series, taken between 1938 and 1941, for which the Metropolitan Museum has well over 600 negatives. Evans' conceived of a book drawing from this series with James Agee, at the same . . .
$895
23h 10m
[bid]
 
Go to this Auction Eugene Atget (Special Issue of Le Crapouillot, 1929)

A rare 1929 issue of this French illustrated magazine featuring work by Atget from the collection of Berenice Abbott. Published one year after Abbott arranged to have his work in the Salon Independent . . .
$195
23h 15m
[bid]
 
Go to this Auction Sally Mann: Deep South (SIGNED)

"At times gothic in their sensibility, Mann's murky, dark images of Louisiana and Mississippi have an anthropomorphic quality. One image of a forest floor focuses on a group of gnarled roots writhing . . .
$195
23h 20m
[bid]
1
 
Go to this Auction Sally Mann: What Remains (SIGNED)

Sally Mann's powerful new body of work explores mortality, both the separation of the body from the soul and the scars left behind in the process. Mann brilliantly utilizes the wet-plate collodion tec . . .
$165
23h 20m
[bid]
1

Bidding for the following items has ended; they can now be purchased at the prices shown.
 
Go to this Auction Josef Sudek (Major 1995 Czech Monograph by Anna Farova)

"This deluxe monograph of over two hundred magnificent duotone reproductions, many previously unpublished, is the first full-scale representation of Sudek's poetic genius....Sudek's pictures show not . . .
$295

Inquire to
Buy it Now
 
Go to this Auction Raymond Depardon : San Clemente

This book appeared two years after the 1982 documentary film, also titled 'San Clemente', directed by Depardon along with Sophie Ristelhueber. "On the Venetian island of San Clemente, a beautifully l . . .
$295

Inquire to
Buy it Now
 
Go to this Auction Peter Beard: The End of the Game, First Ed., Inscribed Copy with Hand-Written Letter

Included in The Book of 101 Books. An inscribed copy with a wonderfully cryptic letter that seems to concern plans for one of . . .
$1495

Inquire to
Buy it Now
 
Go to this Auction Andreas Gursky: Montparnasse

A key work in the Dusseldorf School canon! Included in Parr & Badger, The Photobook: A History, Vol. . . .
$1995

Inquire to
Buy it Now
 
Go to this Auction Robert Heinecken: SIGNED Ltd Ed Monograph (Association Copy)--w/ 2 Related Extras

From Andy Grundberg's May 22, 2006 New York Times obituary for Heinicken:
"Heinecken's most influential body of work was h . . .
$395

Inquire to
Buy it Now
 
Go to this Auction Philip-Lorca diCorcia (Museum of Modern Art Catalogue)--SIGNED

An early catalogue highlighting diCorcia's groundbreaking work.
"DiCorcia's images perch on the lines between fact and fiction, blending a documentary mode with techniques of staged photography. . . .
$265

Inquire to
Buy it Now
 
Go to this Auction Thomas Byrnes: Professional Criminals of America (Presentation Copy)

A great presentation copy with a tremendous story to tell! "The fascination of these mugshots of long-dead criminals resides in their repetition and our opportunity to make comparisons and read their . . .
$1995

Inquire to
Buy it Now
 
Go to this Auction Irving Penn: Moments Preserved (Inscribed Association Copy!!)

An absolute masterpiece of printing, Penn spent a month in Lucerne, Switzerland overseeing the process at C.J. Bucher, who had produced Richard Avendon's book Observations the previous year. Ea . . .
$995

Inquire to
Buy it Now
 
Go to this Auction Emmet Gowin: Photographs (1st monograph, 1976) --SIGNED

Emmet Gowin's first retrospective book. "It is Gowin's sensibility, rather than any specific visual style or carefully plotted ideational thrust, which is the hallmark and the unifying force of his oe . . .
$295

Inquire to
Buy it Now
 
Go to this Auction Lewis Baltz: Rule Without Exception (INSCRIBED Presentation Copy)

"This overview of Lewis Baltz's twenty-year career presents his precise, barren images in juxtaposition to a series of critical texts that comment directly and obliquely on his work. From the earliest . . .
$295

Inquire to
Buy it Now
 
Go to this Auction Takuma Nakahira: Adieu à X (AX)--with obi

"I believe that photography is neither creation nor memory, but documents. The act of shooting a photograph is not something abstract. It is always concrete. No manipulation to make simple things comp . . .
$695

Inquire to
Buy it Now
 
Go to this Auction Masahisa Fukase: The Solitude of Ravens (Karasu)--First Edition!

In a 2010 article critic Sean O'Hagan asks, Masahisa Fukase's Ravens: the best photobook of the pa . . .
$2495

Inquire to
Buy it Now
 
Go to this Auction Robert Frank (with Jack Kerouac and Alfred Leslie): Pull My Daisy (SIGNED by Frank)

"Here is the complete Kerouac text, with photos selected by Robert Frank from the film Pull My Daisy--a short cinematographic exhibition of 'Beat' life in a Bowery 'pad' on New York's Lower East Side, . . .
$595

Inquire to
Buy it Now
 
Go to this Auction Axel Hütte: London

Included in The Photobook: A History, Vol. I and [bid or read more]

$395

Inquire to
Buy it Now
 
Go to this Auction Chargesheimer: Unter Krahnenbäumen (First Edition)

Chargesheimer (Karl Heinz Hargesheimer, 1924-1971) was one of the most prolific German photographers of the post-war period. He photographed regularly for Stern magazine and produced books on Hanover, . . .
$465

Inquire to
Buy it Now

View the Entire Inventory Available for Post-Auction Sale

View all 4965 Past Auctions

© PHOTO-EYE, LLC, 2015. All Rights Reserved Copyrights-Trademarks Privacy Policy Returns Policy Staff/Hours/Location 800.227.6941 info@photoeye.com