Welcome to photo-eye Auctions!



This Week's Auctions

After Walker Evans' death in 1975, the executor of his estate, John T. Hill, along with Evans colleague Norman Ives, set about editing some 20,000 negatives taken over forty-five years to produce the monograph, First & Last. Before it was released in 1978 — forty years after the publication of his epochal American Photographs — numerous prints were produced in the preparation of a maquette. We are thrilled to offer a selection of five prints — three of them included in American Photographs. All were printed by Amos Chan and have the 'imprimatur' of Mr. Hill on the verso. Also on the block:

  • Henri Cartier-Bresson's impossibly rare, little-known 1948 volume, Beautiful Jaipur (in Scarce Dust Jacket)
  • Peter Beard: The End of the Game, First Ed., Inscribed Copy with Hand-Written Letter
  • The searing documentary by Raymond Depardon, San Clemente
  • Andreas Gursky (Museum of Modern Art Catalogue)--Signed

  • Now accepting consignments. For inquiries as well as discreet, expert advise on building or selling your collection, be sure to contact Eric Miles Director of Rare Books & Online Auctions.

    Don't forget, all books shown in the Post-Auction Sale Inventory are available at the low opening bid prices shown! Invitation to Consign: Do you have photobooks or prints you'd like to sell? Read our F.A.Q.s.



    Consign to photo-eye Auctions
    photo-eye Auctions provides expert photobook search service, appraisal of libraries and photo collections and consulting for all of your library and photography collecting needs.

    Login or Register to bid | Consign auction items

    Items Open for Bids    Starting or
    High Bid
    Bids
     
    Go to this Auction Henri Cartier-Bresson: The Europeans (in Rare Acetate Jacket)

    Included in Parr and Badger The Photobook: A History, Vol. I
    "Cartier-Bresson worked on The Europeans for five years, a short period if one considers that the famous Images ? la sauvette [The Dec . . .
    $1065
    5d 17h 10m
    [bid]
    The Photo Book
     
    Go to this Auction Andy Sewell: The Heath (SIGNED)

    Included in Parr/Badger, The Photobook: A History, vol. III.
    "This is the Heath as a living landscape but also as a mood and an atmosphere... a bo . . .
    $465
    5d 17h 15m
    [bid]
    The Photo Book
     
    Go to this Auction Jean Clemmer & Paco Rabanne: Nues (1st Edition!)--INSCRIBED Presentation Copy

    A classic book of 1960s fashion iconography that will appeal to fans of Sam Haskins, David Bailey and Wingate Paine. Nues was a collaboration between designer Paco Rabanne and the photographer of Jean . . .
    $395
    5d 17h 25m
    [bid]
     
    Go to this Auction Arnold Genthe: Old Chinatown (1913 Ed., Inscribed Presentation Copy with Signed Letter)

    The desirable 1913 edition, inscribed to an important figure in the history of San Francisco's Chinatown. Included in Parr & Badger, [bid or read more]

    $565
    5d 17h 45m
    [bid]
    The Photo Book
     
    Go to this Auction Walker Evans: City Lunch Counter, Lexinton Ave., c.1930 (from American Photographs)

    Quotidian New York life as only Evans could capture it! "As early as the 1870s, the quick-lunch counter had become commonplace in New York City. With the introduction and success of the coin-operated . . .
    $1795
    5d 17h 50m
    [bid]
     
    Go to this Auction Walker Evans: View of Easton, Pennsylvania, 1938 (from American Photographs)

    "By defining both his subjects and photography itself through the use of this irradiating, informing light, Evans makes an identification between the two which is simple, direct, and profound."--[bid or read more]

    $1695
    5d 17h 55m
    [bid]
     
    Go to this Auction Walker Evans: Railroad Station, Edwards, Mississippi, 1936

    "From an elevated position, perhaps standing on a bridge or trestle, Walker Evans photographed railroad tracks receding around a bend in a small town. Several men huddle around a curb at the end of th . . .
    $1295
    5d 18h 0m
    [bid]
     
    Go to this Auction Walker Evans: Subway Passengers, New York City, 1938

    From Evans' Subway series, taken between 1938 and 1941, for which the Metropolitan Museum has well over 600 negatives. Evans' conceived of a book drawing from this series with James Agee, at the same . . .
    $895
    5d 18h 5m
    [bid]

    Bidding for the following items has ended; they can now be purchased at the prices shown.
     
    Go to this Auction Josef Sudek (Major 1995 Czech Monograph by Anna Farova)

    "This deluxe monograph of over two hundred magnificent duotone reproductions, many previously unpublished, is the first full-scale representation of Sudek's poetic genius....Sudek's pictures show not . . .
    $295

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Raymond Depardon : San Clemente

    This book appeared two years after the 1982 documentary film, also titled 'San Clemente', directed by Depardon along with Sophie Ristelhueber. "On the Venetian island of San Clemente, a beautifully l . . .
    $295

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Peter Beard: The End of the Game, First Ed., Inscribed Copy with Hand-Written Letter

    Included in The Book of 101 Books. An inscribed copy with a wonderfully cryptic letter that seems to concern plans for one of . . .
    $1495

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Andreas Gursky: Montparnasse

    A key work in the Dusseldorf School canon! Included in Parr & Badger, The Photobook: A History, Vol. . . .
    $1995

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Robert Heinecken: SIGNED Ltd Ed Monograph (Association Copy)--w/ 2 Related Extras

    From Andy Grundberg's May 22, 2006 New York Times obituary for Heinicken:
    "Heinecken's most influential body of work was h . . .
    $395

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Philip-Lorca diCorcia (Museum of Modern Art Catalogue)--SIGNED

    An early catalogue highlighting diCorcia's groundbreaking work.
    "DiCorcia's images perch on the lines between fact and fiction, blending a documentary mode with techniques of staged photography. . . .
    $265

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Thomas Byrnes: Professional Criminals of America (Presentation Copy)

    A great presentation copy with a tremendous story to tell! "The fascination of these mugshots of long-dead criminals resides in their repetition and our opportunity to make comparisons and read their . . .
    $1995

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Irving Penn: Moments Preserved (Inscribed Association Copy!!)

    An absolute masterpiece of printing, Penn spent a month in Lucerne, Switzerland overseeing the process at C.J. Bucher, who had produced Richard Avendon's book Observations the previous year. Ea . . .
    $995

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Emmet Gowin: Photographs (1st monograph, 1976) --SIGNED

    Emmet Gowin's first retrospective book. "It is Gowin's sensibility, rather than any specific visual style or carefully plotted ideational thrust, which is the hallmark and the unifying force of his oe . . .
    $295

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Lewis Baltz: Rule Without Exception (INSCRIBED Presentation Copy)

    "This overview of Lewis Baltz's twenty-year career presents his precise, barren images in juxtaposition to a series of critical texts that comment directly and obliquely on his work. From the earliest . . .
    $295

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Takuma Nakahira: Adieu à X (AX)--with obi

    "I believe that photography is neither creation nor memory, but documents. The act of shooting a photograph is not something abstract. It is always concrete. No manipulation to make simple things comp . . .
    $695

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Masahisa Fukase: The Solitude of Ravens (Karasu)--First Edition!

    In a 2010 article critic Sean O'Hagan asks, Masahisa Fukase's Ravens: the best photobook of the pa . . .
    $2495

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Robert Frank (with Jack Kerouac and Alfred Leslie): Pull My Daisy (SIGNED by Frank)

    "Here is the complete Kerouac text, with photos selected by Robert Frank from the film Pull My Daisy--a short cinematographic exhibition of 'Beat' life in a Bowery 'pad' on New York's Lower East Side, . . .
    $595

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Axel Hütte: London

    Included in The Photobook: A History, Vol. I and [bid or read more]

    $395

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Chargesheimer: Unter Krahnenbäumen (First Edition)

    Chargesheimer (Karl Heinz Hargesheimer, 1924-1971) was one of the most prolific German photographers of the post-war period. He photographed regularly for Stern magazine and produced books on Hanover, . . .
    $465

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now

    View the Entire Inventory Available for Post-Auction Sale

    View all 4965 Past Auctions

    © PHOTO-EYE, LLC, 2015. All Rights Reserved Copyrights-Trademarks Privacy Policy Returns Policy Staff/Hours/Location 800.227.6941 info@photoeye.com