Welcome to photo-eye Auctions!




This Week's Auctions

This week's offering include a rare vintage print by Czech photographer Zdenek Tmej from his unforgettable book Abeceda Dusevniho Prazdna (The Alphabet of Spiritual Emptiness). Also on the block, a gorgeous copy of Henri Cartier-Bresson's The Europeans (in Rare Acetate Jacket). PLUS:

  • Jonas Bendiksen: Satellite(SIGNED)
  • Bernhard Fuchs Portrait Photographs (SIGNED) + Autos + Roads & Paths(lot of 3 books)
  • Masahisa Fukase: The Solitude of Ravens (Karasu) — First Edition!
  • Joel Meyerowitz: Cover Image from Cape Light (Color Print)


  • Now accepting fall consignments. For inquiries as well as discreet, expert advise on building or selling your collection, be sure to contact Eric Miles Director of Rare Books & Online Auctions.

    Don't forget, all books shown in the Post-Auction Sale Inventory are available at the low opening bid prices shown! Invitation to Consign: Do you have photobooks or prints you'd like to sell? Read our F.A.Q.s.



    Consign to photo-eye Auctions
    photo-eye Auctions provides expert photobook search service, appraisal of libraries and photo collections and consulting for all of your library and photography collecting needs.

    Login or Register to bid | Consign auction items

    Items Open for Bids    Starting or
    High Bid
    Bids
     
    Go to this Auction Visionaire No. 5: The Future

    One of the most rare of this renowned series of limited edition publications. Included are contributions by Steven Meisel, Pierre et Gilles,Nick Knight, James White, Elaine Gan, and many others. Seven . . .
    $995
    5d 6h 1m
    [bid]
     
    Go to this Auction Josef Sudek: Janácek Hukvaldy [INSCRIBED]

    This Sudek gem is an intimate photographic portrait of a small Moravian-Silesian village; includes views of the ruins of Hrad Hukvaldy (Hukvaldy Castle), as well as sites associated with the beloved C . . .
    $325
    5d 6h 11m
    [bid]
     
    Go to this Auction Vyrábíme dobrou ocel [We Produce Good Steel]--Rare 1937 Czech Company Photobook

    A brilliant little company photobook for the Ocela´r?ska´ poradna stell company. Designed in high Modernist style and printed by renowned gravure company printed by V. Neubert & Sons. Quite rare; only . . .
    $195
    5d 6h 16m
    [bid]
     
    Go to this Auction Twenty Years of the Czechoslovakian Army in the Liberated State (Designed by Ladislav Sutnar)

    While photographer Jiri Jenicek's name might be little known today, Ladislav Sutnar, who designed this volume, is one of the undisputed giants of twentieth century graphic design, having pioneered man . . .
    $325
    5d 6h 21m
    [bid]
     
    Go to this Auction Susan Meiselas: Pandora’s Box (SIGNED, Limited Edition)

    "According to Greek myth, Pandora was given a box by Zeus and instructed never to open it. She could not restrain her curiosity, however, and did just that, releasing into the world all of the sufferi . . .
    $350
    5d 6h 26m
    [bid]
     
    Go to this Auction Josef Koudelka:Three Programs for Divadlo za Branou Productions with Photos by Koudelka

    Some of Koudelka's earliest work as a working photographer was for the avant-garde theater company, Divadlo za branou (Theater Beyond the Gate), led by the director Otomar Krejca. As Krejca has recall . . .
    $225
    5d 6h 36m
    [bid]
     
    Go to this Auction Vaclav Jiru: Slunecne Pobrezi Jugoslavie (The Sun Coast of Yugoslavia) --SIGNED

    Beginning in 1926, Vaclav Jiru exhibited photos that were informed by New Objectivist, Bauhaus aesthetics in the Czech camera clubs alongside the likes of Josef Sudek and others. He also worked as a . . .
    $395
    5d 6h 41m
    [bid]
     
    Go to this Auction Jindrich Štyrský. Fotografické dílo-1934-1935 [Photographic Work, 1934-1935]

    Jindrich Štyrský (1899 – 1942) is best known for the remarkable 1945 book Na Jehlach Techto dni [On the Needle of These Days].
    "I . . .
    $95
    5d 6h 46m
    [bid]
     
    Go to this Auction Josef Koudelka: Respekt (1968 Prague Invasion Photos!)

    "In 1968, Josef Koudelka was a thirty-year-old acclaimed theater photographer who never photographed a news event. That all changed on the night of August 21, when Warsaw Pact tanks invaded the city o . . .
    $395
    5d 6h 51m
    [bid]

    Bidding for the following items has ended; they can now be purchased at the prices shown.
     
    Go to this Auction Masahisa Fukase: The Solitude of Ravens (Karasu)--First Edition!

    In a 2010 article critic Sean O'Hagan asks, Masahisa Fukase's Ravens: the best photobook of the pa . . .
    $2495

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Bernhard Fuchs: Portrait Photographs (SIGNED) + Autos + Roads & Paths

    A student of Bernd and Hilla Becher, Bernard Fuchs is an exemplary member of the "Dusseldorf School". In these two volumes he uses the 'typological' approach of his teachers in examinations of ubiquit . . .
    $495

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Philip-Lorca diCorcia (Museum of Modern Art Catalogue)

    An early catalogue highlighting diCorcia's groundbreaking work.
    "DiCorcia's images perch on the lines between fact and fiction, blending a documentary mode with techniques of staged photography. . . .
    $265

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Joel Meyerowitz: Cover Image from Cape Light (Color Print)

    "Joel Meyerowitz first started shooting color photographs in the late 1960s, both in New York City and on trips overseas, but it was his Cape Light series from a decade later that brought him national . . .
    $1495

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction André Kertész: Day of Paris (in Scarce Dust Jacket!)

    Kertész's first American publication appeared after he had been living in New York for almost ten years. Taken during the 20s and 30s, but not appearing until the end of World War II, the images have . . .
    $895

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Portfolio: A Magazine for the Graphic Arts (Alexey Brodovitch, art director)--nos. 1-3--Complete Run

    A complete set of Alexey Brodovitch's legendary Portfolio magazine. One of the undisputed high-points in American graphic design of the twentieth century. Along with [bid or read more]

    $1195

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction George Dureau: New Orleans. 50 Photographs

    "With a cult-like following, George Dureau's photographs are a striking mix of carnal and heroic, unsentimental yet completely intimate and personal."--from Dureau's April 2014 obituary in the [bid or read more]

    $250

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Kohei Yoshiyuki: Document Kouen (Document Park)--First Edition.

    "[Document Kouen] is a brilliant piece of social documentation, catching perfectly the loneliness, sadness and desperation that so often accompany sexual or human relationships in a big, hard metropol . . .
    $495

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Daido Moriyama: Japanese Theater (Japan, A Photo Theater)--SIGNED

    Moriyama's killer first book!! Included in Japanese Photobooks of the 1960s and 1970s Ivan Vartanian & Ryui . . .
    $995

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Liz Cohen: Bodywork. The Trabant Project 2002-2006, From An East German Trabant to a US El Camino.

    "This instantly collectible limited edition artist's book, featuring rounded edges and nine blown-in, four-color photographic images, documents a recent project by the daring and witty young American . . .
    $595

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Masahisa Fukase: The Solitude of Ravens (Karasu)--First Edition!

    In a 2010 article critic Sean O'Hagan asks, Masahisa Fukase's Ravens: the best photobook of the pa . . .
    $2495

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Richard Avedon: Made in France (Limited Edition with Signed Print, Only 1/100!)

    "This extraordinarily printed collection stands as an important rediscovery of a small but central body of work in the career of one of the world's best known and beloved photographers. The Richard Av . . .
    $11995

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Sam Haskins: November Girl

    "November Girl is poetry in pictures. It is the elegy of a lovely girl's longing for the return of the lover who is dead, of her heart and soul bared in a vain attempt to recapture a love that is fore . . .
    $295

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Sam Haskins: Cowboy Kate & Andere Stories (First German Ed. in Slipcase)

    Writing in 1964 Norman Hall said of this book: "The main story is a sort of allegory with a theme as old as the folklore of humanity. Nostalgically, it guys the props, the conventions and sentimentali . . .
    $295

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Tad Wakamatsu: Ipy Girl, Ipy

    An awesome book of hippy-psychedelic-erotic style! Highly recommended for fans of Sam Haskins and Wingate Paine. Hippie chicks, bikers, lots of nudity, etc....Much of it shot mostly in New York, with . . .
    $395

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now

    View the Entire Inventory Available for Post-Auction Sale

    View all 4818 Past Auctions

    © photo-eye, 2014. All Rights Reserved Copyrights-Trademarks Privacy Policy Staff/Hours/Santa Fe Location 800.227.6941 info@photoeye.com