Welcome to photo-eye Auctions!




This Week's Auctions

Now on the photo-eye Auction block, two of Ed Ruscha's best — Some Los Angeles Apartments (1st ed., inscribed to a noted L.A. Curator) and Thirtyfour Parking Lots in Los Angeles; an incredibly rare 1931 'company photobook' by Josef Sudek, Second Phase of the Construction of the Prague Gasworks at Michli, 1929–1930, that will be a revelation any Sudek enthusiast. PLUS:

  • Michael Kenna: Huangshan: Poems from the T’ang Dynasty (Livre d'artiste with 13 Platinum Prints)
  • Bruce Davidson: Time of Change (SIGNED, Limited Edition with Print)
  • Mike Mandel: (Baseball-Photographer Trading Cards), Complete Set of 135
  • Bettina Rheims: Heroines (SIGNED)

  • Now accepting fall consignments. For inquiries as well as discreet, expert advise on building or selling your collection, be sure to contact Eric Miles Director of Rare Books & Online Auctions.

    Don't forget, all books shown in the Post-Auction Sale Inventory are available at the low opening bid prices shown! Invitation to Consign: Do you have photobooks or prints you'd like to sell? Read our F.A.Q.s.



    Consign to photo-eye Auctions
    photo-eye Auctions provides expert photobook search service, appraisal of libraries and photo collections and consulting for all of your library and photography collecting needs.

    Login or Register to bid | Consign auction items

    Items Open for Bids    Starting or
    High Bid
    Bids
     
    Go to this Auction Ed Ruscha: Some Los Angeles Apartments (First Printing--INSCRIBED Association Copy!)

    Ruscha's third artist's book and the first to deal with the vernacular architecture of Los Angeles. Predates Every Building on Sunset Strip by a year. An extreme . . .
    $3595
    1d 0h 57m
    [bid]
     
    Go to this Auction Ed Ruscha: Thirtyfour Parking Lots in Los Angeles (First Edition)

    "Thirtyfour Parking Lots in Los Angeles" is Ed Ruscha's fifth photographically illustrated artist book, and the largest in format of his self-published works of the sixties. For it, Mr. Ruscha prescie . . .
    $1295
    1d 1h 2m
    [bid]
    The Photo Book The Open Book
     
    Go to this Auction Richard Prince: Adult Comedy Action Drama (SIGNED)

    "Adult Comedy Action Drama is a kind of self-portrait of the artist as individual consumer. Or one might think of it as landscape photography, where the landscape is consumerism...Richard Prince, alwa . . .
    $425
    1d 1h 7m
    [bid]
    The Book of 101 Books
     
    Go to this Auction Bettina Rheims: Heroines (SIGNED)

    Heroines was produced in collaboration with fashion designer Jean Colonna, who was responsible for the layout and design. The introduction was written by Catherine Millet, author of The Sexual Life of . . .
    $265
    1d 1h 12m
    [bid]
    1
     
    Go to this Auction Jean Clemmer & Paco Rabanne: Nues

    A classic book of 1960s fashion iconography that will appeal to fans of Sam Haskins, David Bailey and Wingate Paine. Nues was a collaboration between designer Paco Rabanne and the photographer of Jean . . .
    $265
    1d 1h 22m
    [bid]
    1
     
    Go to this Auction Josef Sudek: Praha (His First Book, 1929!)--in RARE Slipcase

    Sudek's first monograph takes an intimate look Prague, which would remain a preferred subject throughout his long career. The book is divided into seven sections, each focusing on a different locale i . . .
    $495
    1d 1h 27m
    [bid]
     
    Go to this Auction Josef Sudek: Second Phase of the Construction of the Prague Gasworks at Michli, 1929-1930 (RARE!)

    If you think you knew Sudek, think again! In this incredibly scarce 1931 'company photobook', (ONE copy in OCLC, located in Prague!), the aesthetic is closer to . . .
    $695
    1d 1h 32m
    [bid]
     
    Go to this Auction Sam Taylor-Wood: Jonathan (Color Print)

    Limited edition print by Turner Prize nominee Sam Taylor-Wood published by Jen Bekman's 20 x 200. Produced in an edition of 100 and available only via mail order in January 2012, it sold out immediate . . .
    $295
    1d 1h 37m
    [bid]
     
    Go to this Auction Michael Kenna: Huangshan: Poems from the T’ang Dynasty (Livre d'artiste with 13 Platinum Prints)

    In 2007, 21ST Editions published Mont-Saint-Michel, illustrated with signed platinum prints by Michael Kenna and text by Henry Adams. The entire edition sold out, sight unseen, in only fourteen days! . . .
    $6495
    1d 1h 42m
    [bid]
     
    Go to this Auction Bruce Davidson: Time of Change (SIGNED, Limited Edition with Print)

    "On May 25,1961, Bruce Davison joined a group of Freedom Riders traveling by bus from Montgomery, Alabama to Jackson, Mississippi. The actions of these youths challenged and disobeyed federal laws all . . .
    $795
    1d 1h 47m
    [bid]
    1
     
    Go to this Auction Nan Goldin: Ballad of Sexual Dependency (INSCRIBED)

    Nan Goldin's Ballad is an unforgettable document of early 80s bohemian life in New York's East Village. J. Hoberman of The Village Voice called it "a sexual taxonomy for the '80s." Writing in Roth, Th . . .
    $465
    1d 1h 52m
    [bid]
    The Book of 101 Books
    1
     
    Go to this Auction Mike Mandel: Untitled (Baseball-Photographer Trading Cards), Complete Set of 135

    "In 1974, just a year before Mike Mandel and Larry Sultan, classmates at the San Francisco Art Institute, were awarded a grant by the National Endowment for the Arts to pursue what eventually became t . . .
    $2,865
    1d 1h 57m
    [bid]
    1
     
    Go to this Auction James Van Der Zee (Owen Dodson & Camille Billops): Harlem Book of the Dead (SIGNED by all 3 Authors)

    "The Harlem Book of the Dead with its photographs, poems, and text are more than a representational reflections of mourning rites. They reveal the history of a time in Harlem, now past, when society c . . .
    $95
    1d 2h 2m
    [bid]
    1

    Bidding for the following items has ended; they can now be purchased at the prices shown.
     
    Go to this Auction Josef Koudelka: Respekt (1968 Prague Invasion Photos!)

    "In 1968, Josef Koudelka was a thirty-year-old acclaimed theater photographer who never photographed a news event. That all changed on the night of August 21, when Warsaw Pact tanks invaded the city o . . .
    $495

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Hans-Otto Göpfert: Dreams are free of peso or: The Children of COCA COCA

    Deserves to be ranked with the great Latin American books of the 70s! Hans-Otto Goepfert is little-known book artist of rare talents who founded his own press in 1972. This singular book documents the . . .
    $195

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Shelby Lee Adams: Appalachian Portraits (Rare Hardbound Edition)

    "Here in pictures and in words the photographer Shelby Lee Adams and the novelist Lee Smith explore their unique Appalachian homeland. Their photographic and literary art confronts you and draws you i . . .
    $295

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Joel Sternfeld: Walking the High Line (SIGNED)

    Along the western edge of Manhattan runs a derelict, 1.3 mile, two-story elevated railroad track, from 34th Street to Gansevoort Street. Sternfeld photographed the changing shades of the seasons for a . . .
    $295

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Cristina De Middel: Self-Publish and Be Happy Book Club Vol III (SIGNED)

    "The third edition of the SPBH Book Club is by photographer Cristina De Middel. De Middel gained international acclaim last year wither her self published book The Afronauts which, in just a few mont . . .
    $265

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Carl De Keyzer: Homo Sovieticus (Limited Edition With Print!)

    Homo Sovieticus documents pre-Yeltsin Russia in beautifully expressive triotone plates. Sections of De Keyzer's journal occupy the beginning of the book which then gives way to rich black-and-white im . . .
    $395

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Ken Domon: Hiroshima (1958, First Edition)

    Along with Kikuji Kawada's Chizu [The Map], (1965), Shomei Tomatsu's Nagasaki 11:02 (1966) and Domon's 1961 collaboration with Tomatsu, Hiroshima-Nagasaki Document, this book remains one of the most i . . .
    $1295

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Kikuji Kawada: Sacré Atavism

    A sleeper in the Japanese photobook canon! Kikuji Kawada is best known for Chizu (The Map), a book that is, unequivocally, one of the most important photobooks e . . .
    $895

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction André Kertész: Day of Paris (in Scarce Dust Jacket!)

    Kertész's first American publication appeared after he had been living in New York for almost ten years. Taken during the 20s and 30s, but not appearing until the end of World War II, the images have . . .
    $795

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Ferdinando Scianna: Feste religiose in Sicilia

    Included in Parr/Badger, The Photobook: A History, vol. III. Magnum photographer Ferdinando Scianna started taking photographs in the 1960s while studying lite . . .
    $795

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Anton Kusters: Odo Yakuza Tokyo (SIGNED)

    "ODO YAKUZA TOKYO is an intimate personal account of a Belgian photographer documenting the inaccessible subculture of Japanese organized crime: the Yakuza. Anton Kusters teams up with his brother Mal . . .
    $365

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Pekka Turunen: Against the Wall: Lypö, Tilkkanen, Mörsky and I

    Cited in Parr/Badger, The History of the Photobook, vol. II. "Finnish society became urbanised more rapidly than almost any other in Europe. Just fifty years ago . . .
    $1245

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Jeff Burton: The Other Place (Limited Edition with Print)

    "Art, fashion and pornography have their own standards of decency. The hierarchy is so rigid. Fine art has been elevated to the top, fashion is a bit lower than that, and porn's even a bit lower than . . .
    $495

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Masao Gozu: In New York (3 Vols, ALL SIGNED)

    Included in Parr/Badger, The Photobook: A History, vol. III.
    A rare complete set, all signed, of Masao Gozu's unsung gem of urban documentary, In New York, s . . .
    $995

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now
     
    Go to this Auction Arnold Genthe: Old Chinatown (+ Calendar)

    Arnold Genthe's photographs of San Francisco before and during the earthquake and fire of 1906 made him a living legend in the Bay area. While this book captures an era long past, Genthe was way ahead . . .
    $295

    Inquire to
    Buy it Now

    View the Entire Inventory Available for Post-Auction Sale

    View all 4781 Past Auctions

    © photo-eye, 2014. All Rights Reserved Copyrights-Trademarks Privacy Policy Staff/Hours/Santa Fe Location 800.227.6941 info@photoeye.com