Click to Browse this Book!
 


Vivian Maier: The Color Work.
Photographs by Vivian Maier. Text by Joel Meyerowitz and Colin Westerbeck.
Harper Design, New York, USA, 2018. In English. 240 pp., 150+ color illustrations, 10¼x12½".

Publisher's Description

Reviewed on photo-eye Blog by Owen Kobasz.

The first definitive monograph of color photographs by American street photographer Vivian Maier.

Photographer Vivian Maier’s allure endures even though many details of her life continue to remain a mystery. Her story—the secretive nanny-photographer who became a pioneer photographer—has only been pieced together from the thousands of images she made and the handful of facts that have surfaced about her life. Vivian Maier: The Color Work is the largest and most highly curated published collection of Maier’s full-color photographs to date.

With a foreword by world-renowned photographer Joel Meyerowitz and text by curator Colin Westerbeck, this definitive volume sheds light on the nature of Maier’s color images, examining them within the context of her black-and-white work as well as the images of street photographers with whom she clearly had kinship, like Eugene Atget and Lee Friedlander. With more than 150 color photographs, most of which have never been published in book form, this collection of images deepens our understanding of Maier, as its immediacy demonstrates how keen she was to record and present her interpretation of the world around her.

ABOUT THE CONTRIBUTORS

John Maloof is an artist and collector. He discovered the first negatives of Vivian Maier’s work in 2007 while compiling a book about the history of the Chicago neighborhood where he resided. He edited the first and second published collections of Maier’s work, Vivian Maier: Street Photographer and Vivian Maier: Self-Portraits. He lives in Skokie, Illinois.

Joel Meyerowitz is a street photographer in the tradition of Henri Cartier-Bresson and Robert Frank, although he works exclusively in color. As an early advocate he became instrumental in changing the attitude toward color photography from one of resistance to nearly universal acceptance. His first book, Cape Light, is considered a classic work of color photography; he has published twenty-five other books including a two-volume retrospective, Taking My Time. A Guggenheim fellow and a recipient of both the National Endowment for the Arts and National Endowment for the Humanities awards, his work is in the collections of many prestigious museum collections worldwide. He lives in Italy and New York.

Colin Westerbeck is the author of numerous books on photography, including Chuck Close: Photographer; A Democracy of Imagery; and with Joel Meyerowitz, Bystander, A History of Street Photography. The former curator of photography at the Art Institute of Chicago and former director of the California Museum of Photography at the University of California, Riverside, he has written a weekly column on photography for the Los Angeles Timesand is a frequent contributor to Art in America. He lives in Los Angeles.

Howard Greenberg is one of the world’s foremost photography gallerists. He is a leading authority on nineteenth- and twentieth-century photography, and has been an acknowledged leader of establishing its value on the fine art market. His gallery, the Howard Greenberg Gallery in New York City, is the primary representative of the work of Vivian Maier from the Maloof Collection.

Discounted copies have minor corner bumps.


Ordering Information
This item is currently in-stock for immediate shipment from photo-eye.

Order from photo-eye     Why photo-eye?
Cat# UC211H Hardbound $80.00   
In Stock! Usually ships in 1 business day.

Quantity:

Our customers who bought this also purchased...
Public Matters  Delaney, Janet
Hearts and Bones  Chambers, Tom
Bright Black World  
She Disappeared into Complete Silence  



© PHOTO-EYE, LLC, 2018. All Rights Reserved Copyrights-Trademarks Privacy Policy Returns Policy Staff/Hours/Location 505.988.5152 info@photoeye.com